Category: Assignment Info

Assignment details for samples, exercises, and projects.

Assignment 9: Exquisite Cloth

Work-in-progress preview due Mon Mar 30 (11:59PM). Full result due Mon April 6 by 11:59PM. For this assignment, we will resume collaborative work, now with a new focus…

Assignment 8: Kinetic Image

Flexible due date: if you’re ready to start working, then due Mon Mar 23 by 11:59; else if you need more time to get settled due Wed Mar…

Assignment 7: Parasite Iteration

Due: Mon, March 2, 11:59PM For this assignment, you will continue to work with your same partner to reflect upon your current Parasite project (assignment #6) and to…

Assignment 6: Parasite

Due: Mon, Feb 24, 11:59PM par·a·site/ˈperəˌsīt/ noun: parasite; plural noun: parasites an organism that lives in or on an organism of another species (its host) and benefits by deriving nutrients…

Assignment 5: Camouflage

Due: Mon, Feb 17, 11:59PM Integrating kinetic structures into clothing offers opportunities both for a close integration with the motions of daily life and the use of kinetic…

Assignment 4: Responsive Fabric Mechanism

Due: Mon, Feb 10, 5PM Fabric combined with rigid materials (such as cardboard or wood or acrylic) can create robust flexure points, wearable structures, and highly dynamic shapes….

Assignment 3: Research and Ideation

Due: Mon, Feb 3, 5PM We are shifting this week’s assignment toward research and brainstorming in lieu of a practical material sample because of the unscheduled cancellation on…

Assignment 2: Mechanical Symbiotes

Due: Mon, Jan 27 5PM Cardboard and paper are an excellent materials for quickly mocking up rigid mechanical structures. They can be easily hand-cut, bent, hinged, made more…

Assignment 1: Gesture Extension

Due: Mon, Jan 20 5PM Clothing and costume are both social and physical prosthetics: it moves with us, revealing and concealing, and expressing our identity and intentions. A…